Choose Your Own Adventure

religion

Explore posts in the same categories: Humor, NaBloPoMo

9 Comments on “Choose Your Own Adventure”


  1. hysterical! thanks for the laugh 🙂

  2. Paige Says:

    budhism =/= many gods…

  3. elowyn Says:

    Gosh, Paige, and here I thought that this was a treatise on world religions, and that wiccans *have* to have black cats, and that there are no rich and/or insane atheists. Phew. Thanks for letting me know!

  4. Care Says:

    I’m still giggling about the magical underwear bit. :-p

  5. Jo Says:

    Neither rich nor insane (although I suppose that notion could be debated), so I guess that makes me an atheist and not (perish the thought) a scientologist!

    Although the whole premise of this chart is a little funny, as very few people actively choose a religion – the vast majority of humans are the religion they are born to, with little critical thought about alternatives. Which was one of the many slippery slope thoughts that eventually led me to embrace non-belief. what kind of God would damn to hell whole groups of people because they were born into the “wrong” religious culture? (And that would be where evangelists will say that’s why it’s their duty to evangelize …)

    OY, don’t get me started. 🙂

    Jo, fallen, non-believing ex-Mormon (never wore garments, though, but did participate in baptism for the dead when a teenager)


  6. I found this quite humorous and I was brought up in no religion at all. Now, I found myself a bacon-loving, boring (but passionate) Christian, born of a well-researched choice I made at age 30. Now, I’m 47 and I’ve never looked back. 🙂

  7. Jo Says:

    Don’t get me wrong — this chart is hilarious. Just found it a bit ironic for reasons cited. And stand by my assertion that very few people *fundamentally* change religion. Sure, there are those that convert to Islam or Judaism from Christianity, and I suppose vice versa, but they are few and far between. Far more common for people to move from one flavor of Christianity to another, which in my opinion isn’t a change of religion, really.

    That said, what does a hummus AND bacon-loving girl, who loves Indian and Chinese takeout also, do with herself?

  8. elowyn Says:

    what does a hummus AND bacon-loving girl, who loves Indian and Chinese takeout also, do with herself?

    Become a Unitarian, obviously! 😉

    Seriously, though – I hope no one was offended – this was just meant to be a light-hearted cartoon. Along the lines of “how to choose a medical specialty” a month or so back.

  9. Jo Says:

    Absolutely no offense taken by me! Being a non-religious sort, you almost can’t offend me that way personally, as I have no dog in the fight. It really was quite funny.


Leave a Reply

