Cloth Diaper Dropout

So I was all ready to be crunchy-granola mommy, and do cloth diapers, right?  And I did, for about a month after Emma came home.  The washing was fine.  The changing was fine.  The not buying diapers/spending money was fine.  It was all fine. 

But dammit, I’m just too vain.  Their little clothes don’t fit over the big ol’ bubble butts, and they look so disproportionate with these huge hineys on these tiny little arms/legs/torsos.  So that’s it.  No more cloth here, at least for the time being. 

I may kill the planet with two babies’ worth of pampers, but at least they’ll be cute!  And hey, since amazon will deliver pampers to my door, where’s the inconvenience?  😉

Explore posts in the same categories: Baby

6 Comments on “Cloth Diaper Dropout”

  1. Natasha Says:

    Bwahaha! Make no apologies, mom! Cute butts are important too!

  2. Dora Says:

    So lets see these cute butts. Post ’em. How about comparison shots?

  3. Lori Says:

    Too funny! Now that I know two of you (via the web) with premies I notice different articles. I did read something about big diapers on cute little butts. Here’s the ad next to it: http://www.preemiediapers.com/

    A solution for every problem. I agree w/Dora, cute little bum pics!

    L

  4. bri Says:

    I totally respect your decision to do as you see fit but I did want to say that I felt EXACTLY the same way at first and bemoaned the fact that I had bought into my crunchy friends’ cloth scheme. Then… I don’t know. Something shifted. And quickly. So do keep trying as they grow a bit. I wouldn’t trade Beck’s cloth diapered butt toddling around for anything in the world.
    From this annoyed place of uncertainty:
    http://www.unwellness.com/unwellness/2007/09/cloth-diaper-gu.html
    To this, crazed diaper buying a month later:
    http://www.unwellness.com/unwellness/2007/10/crazed-diaper-b.html

  5. Nicki Says:

    Yep that’s about exactly how long I lasted with each kid before I dropped out!! Cloth – good in theory, highly overrated in reality 😛

  6. Court Says:

    Yep–see what I was saying 🙂 Love cloth–but baby clothes aren’t designed for it, especially if you have a petite baby.


Leave a Reply

