Craftsy

We’re now on our third night of enacting a little institution I like to call “bedtime” around these parts.  That is, at 8 pm the babes feed as usual, put on jammies, get their vitamins/meds, and are swaddled up and allowed to sleep in the pack & play (their downstairs crib) in the dark and quiet.  Fussing is attended to as needed (generally binky-replacement) but getting up is minimized, and the whole idea is to promote sleep.  (This is a distinction from “daytime” in which sometimes we hang out in our bouncy, sometimes our swing, sometimes with mom at the computer or in the kitchen, sometimes doing tummy time, whatever.) 

I started this as an experiment in response to the infantile crankiness in the 8 to 11 pm time slot, and sure enough, they wanted more organized sleep at that time.  (They were already doing organized, consolidated “night” sleep from 11 until around 8 am.)  Bottom line, we now have babies who sleep from 8 pm to 8 am with two wakeups for changing/feeds and back to bed.  Hurrah!

This also gives me time to do laundry, dishes, etc without quite so many interruptions, and has let me start doing a few craftsy things as well.  Emma’s stocking is now finished (I did Chloe’s in 2006 while awaiting the adoption that wasn’t) and I’m working on their Christmas dresses.  Pictures of both to follow.

Yay, bedtime!

Explore posts in the same categories: Chloe, Domesticity, Emma

4 Comments on “Craftsy”

  1. Lawmommy Says:

    Babies? Who sleep for 12 hours? With only two wakeups?

    I’ve heard tales of such creatures, but I thought they were just legends, like the chupacabra and big foot…only, you know, less horrifying. Far, far less horrifying.

    Congratulations on the sleep success!

  2. Rachel Says:

    There is definitely something to be said for a steady routine. Mr. Farty has slept 9-11 hours with no interruptions since he was a month old. But I am almost military-like in my demand for schedule. Annoys the hell out of my family and friends, but makes life a lot easier for me. Keep up the good work!

  3. Natasha Says:

    Hooray for sleep! I love bedtime and nap time!

  4. Jillian Says:

    Wow. Impressive!! If I’m ever a mom, please e-mail this trick to me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

