Update from the Monkey House

At this moment, I just finished changing, bathing, dressing, medicating and feeding x 2 (and my do I love my EZ 2 Nurse pillow, despite the cheeseball name) in the space of about an hour and a half. Both of my cheeky monkeys are sleeping (or feigning it) and I’m settled with the pump and second breakfast (cinnamon raisin bread and a Coke.) Whew. Jo’s right in the comment below about the resemblance to the Bataan Death March. lol.

Really, though, I’m managing. I’m doing this solo (both in the greater sense of the word, obviously, and in the immediate sense) and thus far have managed to keep everyone dry, fed and reasonably content, and we haven’t burned the house down, and no more than two of us have been crying at any given time. My mother’s coming to visit tomorrow for a few days, which will be lovely and will give me a little breather, but all in all so far it’s not as bad as I’d thought it would be. The girls came home on a schedule, and I maintained Chloe on it for the weeks until Emma joined us, but now I’m tweaking it to suit me. To whit, they’re now on an every 4 hour nighttime feed schedule rather than every 3. This results in two three hour blocks of sleep for me, rather than three 1.5 hour blocks. Good thing, that.

Emma’s learning to nurse, after being a nearly-exclusive bottle baby in the NICU. She was just starting to try latching when Chloe went home and messed up my availability (due to childcare issues, I could only get up to the NICU once a day) and then developed reflux and I was just wanting to get her feeding on something, anything, and get her out of there. So I was worried about the nursing at home, but figured we’d find a way. She’s doing really well. Not as strong as Chloe (less practice, for one thing) but she’s getting it. And she bradys much less often on the breast than on the bottle. Go boobs! πŸ˜‰ Oh, and we tried tandem feeding today, which resulted in more milk in their bellies than on them, so I count it a success. I’ve figured out a couple of ways to bottle feed in tandem over the past couple of days, but hadn’t tried breastfeeding until today. Wild.

Weights were 5#9oz (Chloe) and 5#10oz (Emma) on the 11th. Can’t wait to see what they are (and see what they think of E’s latch) when we have our follow-up in the lactation clinic today.

Explore posts in the same categories: Baby, Chloe, Emma

5 Comments on “Update from the Monkey House”

  1. Jo Says:

    Okay, not to be a blog-stalker and all, but your two weigh precisely what my two did at birth! And you must be doing something right to get them on an every-4-hour feeding cycle. Mine did it every two hours round the clock for what felt like forever. Sleep came in 45 minute increments. I don’t recommend it. Oh, and as far as keeping kids clean and fed and all? Your bar is much higher. I was just looking for all of us to be alive each morning. πŸ™‚

  2. Rachel Says:

    My little man was in the NICU for 2 weeks following emergency surgery. I can sooo relate to having one kid at home and one in the hospital.
    Glad your babies are both home and doing well now.
    Love to hear ‘success stories’ from other single moms/infertility patients. Reminds me that I’m not totally alone in this insanity.

  3. kristi Says:

    4-hour-apart nighttime feedings are great! I’m hopeful my two will fall into that pattern soon. And their weights are fantastic too. You sound like you have everything under control. πŸ™‚

  4. Natasha Says:

    You are amazing! Sleep is definitely a good thing, here’s hoping the girls stay cooperative!

  5. scarredbellybutton Says:

    You are awesome breastfeeding prem twins!


Leave a Reply

