Coping Strategies

Emma’s still in the NICU.  They’re talking about another several days to a week.  Same ol’ not-eating crap, different day.  Prilosec’s maybe working a little.  Hard to say.  The next option is putting her on 100% formula.  I can’t even talk about her still being up there without wanting to cry, so we’ll talk about other things.

Some people cope by drinking, or exercise, or any number of other fun and/or productive activities.  Me?  I bake and I clean.  And then I clean and bake some more.

This afternoon, while Chloe slept, I cleaned like a crazy woman, and made chocolate no-bake cookies (my current drug of choice.)

 

 

The recipe (courtesy of Starbuck):

1 stick butter

2 c. sugar

2 T. cocoa powder

1/2 c. milk

1/8 t. salt

1 t. vanilla

3 c. oatmeal (at least 1 c. must be quick oats – ask me about the 10 years it took me to figure this out*)

Combine first five ingredients, bring to a boil.  Boil for 2 minutes, remove from heat.  Add oatmeal & vanilla.  Drop onto waxed paper. 

*Starbuck gave me this recipe at some point in 1997 or so.  I made it with limited success for years (it never reliably set up, despite myriad changes to butter vs. margarine, skim vs 2% milk, changes in boiling time, etc.)  Finally, on a whim, I added quick oats a few weeks ago.  Presto.  It now sets, reliably.  Why we didn’t try that in 10+ years, I’ll never know.

Bonus Chloe pic.  She needs her roommate back.

Explore posts in the same categories: Chloe, Domesticity, Emma, Photo

10 Comments on “Coping Strategies”

  1. Christina Says:

    Oh prayer for Emma. Chloe looks sweet – and like she is missing her sister. (seriously – doesn’t she look like a little bookend in that picture?)
    Thank you for that recipe! I love those things and have always wanted to make them at home – I’m so trying it tomorrow!

  2. Christina Says:

    That’s supposed to say “prayerS for Emma” sorry. My “s” is sticking and doesn’t type unless I hit it really hard. so annoying!

  3. Lawmommy Says:

    Oh, I so love those cookies…

    I don’t understand why they would even consider putting a preemie on formula when there is ample (?) breastmilk to be had. It doesn’t make sense to me at all. (But, then, that’s why they don’t let lawyers practice medicine I suppose…)
    I am hoping she comes home soon.

  4. Deb2You2 Says:

    It’s so hard. I’m sorry you and your babes are having to go through this. I wish there was something I could say or do to help, but alas…I’ve been there recently and Ms. M spent 87 days in the NICU and came home a full 6 weeks after her brother. It was the worst time of my life. If it helps any, both of my two were put on all formula several times during their stay for various reasons…mostly as a precaution until testing of it ensured it was bad bacteria free. I wasn’t thrilled, but as you know, you have so little control of them (although sounds like you have more than what I did?) and it is so hard. I hope you get to close this chapter soon and bring them both home so you can start the rest of your lives together as a family. Let me know if you want to talk, cry, rage, snark, or I could be of support in any other way. And, I haven’t had those cookies in years. I think Max and I need to make them this weekend. Deb

  5. rainbowmom Says:

    Okay, I’m praying tonight that both your little ones will be home together faster than soon. They need each other and you need them both and they both need you and blah blah blah. I’m praying! I’d resort to cookies too, but then it doesn’t take much these days to need to resort to cookies.

  6. Care Says:

    I’m sorry Kate – I wish there was some way to *poof* away the feeding issues and the reflux so you could bring Emma home. For C, Prevacid and thickened formula was what worked (although I mean worked in the sense that even though he was projectile hurling all day and all night, he didn’t lose weight.) I hope they find Emma’s magic combo soon. And even if they do have to try formula, perhaps it will just be temporary – or can be mixed with breastmilk.

    Those cookies look like a delicious distraction. I lost my recipe for no-bake cookies years ago….may just have to hit the grocery store for oats this weekend.

  7. kristi Says:

    I am hoping and praying that Emma comes home soon. I can’t even imagine how difficult this must be for you, so I’ll just say that you’re in my thoughts.

  8. scarredbellybutton Says:

    I’m also wondering why they would want to put your baby onto formula instead of the wonderful breastmilk you’re working to provide – there’s nothing better, especially for a baby with a sensitive system (haven’t read all your blog and am assuming reflux because of the prisolec).

    Will have to try those cookies.

  9. Natasha Says:

    Oh I so hope Emma is home soon where she belongs! You ladies are definitely in my thoughts!

  10. Shan Says:

    Oh! We’ve made a variation of those cookies for years in our house. Got it from something called “The Alaska Cookbook” (no idea where the cookbook came from ;-). I always use quick oats for the whole 3 cups – never tried it with regular oats but can see why it wouldn’t work, since the idea is that the hot mixture “cooks” the oats before it cools, and it could never cook regular oats just by leftover heat from the boiling process. Too bad Starbucks didn’t bother to include that in the recipe and save you years of wondering why it wasn’t working! Oh, and our recipe includes crunchy pb that you add along with vanilla and oats after the boiling part. Yum, yum, yum. 🙂

    Hope Emma improves her eating soon. Must be so frustrating for you – can’t even imagine. 😦 Will hold a good thought that she’s finally home with you SOON.

    –Shan


Leave a Reply

