One Month

I can’t believe that my babies are already a month old.  It seems like it was a year ago, and at the same time only a few days. 

Chloe had her first pediatrician appointment yesterday (weight 5# .25 oz, up 6 oz in 7 days) and was pronounced little, but healthy.  10th percentile for length and weight, and 50th for head circumference (all adjusted for gestational age.)  We predict she’ll catch up over time.  She continues to nurse well, sleep well, and generally be a happy baby.  She’s discovered the wonders of being held, and tried out the Moby wrap on our way to vote today.  I can see using it a ton this fall/winter.

Emma is still a guest of the NICU.  Her suck-swallow-breathe started to really come together late last week, but then she began having painful reflux and refusing feeds.  A pH study ensued, followed by a trial of Zantac (no go) and now Prilosec and Dr. Brown’s bottles (possibly helpful, film at 11.)  She’s 5 lbs 1.8 oz, so has passed Chloe (thanks no doubt to the tube feeding in the NICU.)  I can’t wait to have her stop hurting, and then come home. 

Splitting my time between the NICU and home has been really difficult.  It’s hard to negotiate childcare, and it breaks my heart to leave Emma up there, particularly when she’s been hurting.  I just keep telling myself that this can’t go on much longer, and soon both my girls will be home.  In the meantime, I’m solving my problems with chocolate.

Explore posts in the same categories: Chloe, Emma, Monthly Update

6 Comments on “One Month”

  1. Care Says:

    Wow – one month already! I’m sorry Emma still is not able to come home. Reflux sucks. Connor could empathise. I hope the Prevacid works for Emma.

  2. Dora Says:

    Hope Emma feels better and comes home soon.

    I’m a big believer in medicinal chocolate. 🙂

  3. Calliope Says:

    happy 1 month!
    Hope Emma is able to come home soon.

  4. Natasha Says:

    Happy 1 Month! I am praying that Emma is home soon!

  5. Dianna Says:

    Chocolate solves a lot of problems. Maybe we should sneak some into Emma’s feeding tube 🙂 She’ll be home soon and you’ll have both babes in your arms! Let me know if I can babysit Chloe while you hang with Emma 🙂 🙂 🙂

  6. Sugar & Ice Says:

    It’s amazing how fast a month passes once you have children. I’m glad to hear they’re doing so well!


Leave a Reply

