Ten Days

Chloe has been in an open crib for 48 hours now, and as of last night was tolerating it really well (as long as she’s wrapped up in a onesie, sleeper, two swaddling blankets and a thick blanket on top.)  She looks like a little burrito.  She also has her IV out now, so can wear a little hat, which helps her maintain her temp.  All that’s left is her monitor leads and an NG!  She’s up to 3 lbs 14 oz now, so has gained an ounce on net, after dipping down to 3-10 late last week.  And she’s taking more than an ounce of breastmilk every three hours through her NG.  The next big step is learning to feed by mouth. 

Emma is still in the isolette (again, as of last night) but is staying warm with very little help, so she’ll be in the crib with Chloe soon.  They get to share a crib, which makes me unaccountably happy.  Her IV fluids have been stopped, too, but they’ll leave the PICC line through today to be sure that they won’t be needing it.  She was 3 lbs 10 oz, so is back to birthweight and gaining now.  Her lowest weight was 3-7, for several days over the weekend.  She takes just a smidgen less milk than Chloe, but still is at about an ounce.

I’m still making lots of milk.  6 oz at a time, this morning.  I’m just absolutely thrilled that some body system is working well, after the pregnancy had so many issues.  Of course, I’m going to have to consider hiring a wheelbarrow to carry the bottles into the NICU.  Yesterday I had ten bottles with 2.5 to 4 oz in each, plus what I pumped while I was there.  Moo moo moo.

Physically, I’m doing OK.  I’m only needing Tylenol now, and can get around and do 95% of the things I’d usually do without discomfort.  Still not lifting anything, or driving, but definitely better.  The c/s experience wasn’t nearly as bad as I’d thought, all told.  I’m down 23 lbs since pre-delivery, 13 of which I’ve lost since I left the hospital (which puts me at 10 lbs below pre-pregnancy weight.)  Retaining water much? 

The emotional stuff is pretty difficult at times.  I’m generally pretty positive most of the time, but there are some hard moments too, given the hormones and having had things turn out very differently than I’d have liked. I mean, I got what I wanted most, which was healthy babies/healthy mom, but I’m dealing a good bit with feeling sad that I didn’t/couldn’t keep them in longer, feeling like I didn’t emotionally prepare to be “done” being pregnant, that sort of stuff. Not at all logical, but it’s there. I’m just facing it and dealing with it. And investing in kleenex.  

I got to hold both of them together yesterday.  Best.  Thing.  Ever.

Explore posts in the same categories: Chloe, Emma, Lactation, Photo

20 Comments on “Ten Days”

  1. Lawmommy Says:

    I don’t think there is anything you can do to prepare yourself for the emotion that hits you after you deliver a baby. That post partum period…well, in my singular experience, it was a very dark time. (So dark, that’s it’s a primary reason why we adopted Lana rather than risk a deeper PPD.)

    Feel what you need to feel, cry when you need to cry, and do not, on any level, feel sad about what you weren’t able to do. And look at what you are doing for them now with all the milk you are producing.

    You look great, by the way.

  2. Dora Says:

    Beautiful photo. What a beautiful family!!

  3. Amy Says:

    Beautiful family! Love it! 🙂

  4. Care Says:

    You look radiant in that picture – what a beautiful family you have!

    The emotional stuff is hard – but yes, you will need to buy stock in Kleenex. The Kleenex usage rate doesn’t go down for a long long time!

  5. Sharon Says:

    OMG Kate they are so cute. I can see your happiness in your smile/face, your happiness is coming through.

  6. Florida Fan Says:

    You are amazing. Your babies are amazing. I agree wholeheartedly with Lawmommy: cry when you feel the urge and know that you gave and continue to give your babies 110%. You are doing a great job and that is absolutely beautiful family photo. Thank you for sharing.


  7. They’re so cute and you look so incredibly happy and great! I’m just so thrilled for you!!

  8. Jillian Says:

    Babies! 😀

  9. Katrina Says:

    Oh, kate, I love the picture of your little family! 🙂 I still mourn the loss of how I wanted my pregnancy to end, so I totally get it.

    Glad to hear your girls are doing so well!

  10. tamara Says:

    Oh my goodness, what a beautiful photo! So glad to hear that the babies are progressing well.

    Good to hear that the pumping is going so well. I guess you’ll be building a freezer stash, it sounds like.

    Don’t think I’ve seen many pix of you online. You look great! The post-partum hormones are tough. Hopefully you’ll get evened out soon enough. Maybe if you can keep telling yourself that your birth experience was “OK”, eventually your emotions will believe it.

  11. Natasha Says:

    Wow! That pic put a tear in my eye. I am so happy for you! You girls make a gorgeous family!!!!

  12. R Says:

    JUST BEAUTIFUL!! So happy for you!!!

  13. Christina Says:

    Look at those babies. Just look at them! I think you did a very good job keeping them in the womb and growing them – they are so healthy and beautiful!! Congratulations again. 🙂

  14. Christa Says:

    What beautiful babies. You did great keeping them in as long as you did. Congratulations.

  15. Elaine Says:

    What beautiful babies, and you DO look radiant. Umm . . . please don’t be mad at me, but you also look about 12. And I say that in the best possible way, because at my age I’d love for somebody to think I looked younger. 🙂

  16. NATUI Says:

    They are adorable! And I’m glad you get to hold them every day. No pregnancy or birth experience goes exactly how we want. There is always a bitchy nurse, or some other unexpected event. It is hard when your hormones are all over the place, but try to remember all the highs. It takes a long time to let go of the lows, but if you hold on to all the good stuff eventually the negatives just don’t matter anymore. Congrats to you and your family!

  17. Sharon Says:

    Congrats! The babies are beautiful.

  18. Nicki Says:

    oh my gosh look at you. you are a FAMILY! You are a MOM! FINALLY!!!! Sniff. this makes me want to cry!

    Man I remember all that irrational sobbyness. It is rough. Hormones are a bitch.

  19. rainbowmom Says:

    I’ve given birth to three of my four kids. The last child I birthed was taken a month early. Please trust me when I saw that your emotions are completely normal. As much as my body was done being pregnant, emotionally I wasn’t. And, I knew that he was the last child I’d ever be able to carry. I went through a horrible depression right after his birth. But it gets better. I hope you get through this quickly.

    You look awesome. You’ve got the momma pride glow! Beautiful!


Leave a Reply

