Weight

So I popped into the department after my peri visit the other day, and ran into my coworker who’s also having twins.  She’s about 26-27 weeks.  The conversation got around to weight gain, and she’s proud to be not eating much and still being several lbs under her pre-pregnancy weight.  (She started at a very average/normal weight.  I’d guess a BMI of 22ish.)  Nevermind that she’s already had multiple growth scans showing her twins to be small for gestational age (that’s <10th percentile.)  Nevermind that this is an educated person, who should understand how important healthy birthweights are.  Nope, it’s all about how skinny she can stay.  I refrained from tearing her leg off and beating her to death with it, but it was close.  Argh.

For reference, “average” twin moms are encouraged to gain about 25 lbs by the end of the second trimester (about where this person is) and more like 40 lbs total.  I’m currently up 13 to 14, but started out with some extra, so my goal was only about 25 lbs total (and really my goal was just to eat plenty of nutritious stuff with lots of protein to grow me some nice-sized healthy babies, and I’ll worry about any extra baggage after they’ve checked out of Chez Uterus.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Pregnancy, Rants

4 Comments on “Weight”

  1. Lawmommy Says:

    She’s proud to be below her pre-pregnancy weight?

    This is a person who works in a medical field?

    I have a post I’ve been writing about body image…this kind of thing is just appalling. I’m no medical person, but, I’m pretty sure those babies brains need proteins and healthy fats in order to grow. Argh.

    FYI – after the babies arrive, if you are nursing, you get a ton of extra WW points. I did get back under my pre-pregancy weight while nursing. (Unfortunately, during law school, after I quit nursing, I gained 20 pounds back…)

  2. kristi Says:

    That is insane and selfish. Pregnancy is not the time to be “dieting.”

    Hope you’re feeling well.

  3. Sarah Says:

    I would have had to work VERY hard not to tear her leg off and beat her with it for an attitude like that, so well done for managing it!

  4. Katrina Says:

    Sadly my coworker who had twins last year was the same way…after all the money they put into having those girls, she didn’t want anyone to be able to tell she was pregnant…didn’t want to lose her body…so, so sad. I just love being pregnant and want the whole world to know when I am!


Leave a Reply

