Astonished

That’s really the only word for the peri’s reaction to my cervical sono today.  The guy looked like he’d seen a very welcome ghost. 

Today’s cervical measurement (that is, the amount of cervix keeping my presently 7-odd lbs of kid from falling to the floor): 8 mm.  Two weeks ago?  8 mm.  Four weeks ago?  6 mm.  Whaaa?

None of us (me, the peri, the peri’s staff, my mother the pediatrician, etc) can figure out how this is happening, but we’re dancing metaphorical jigs, anyway. 

So I’m staying down for a few weeks more, seeing the OB weekly, continuing to shoot up (Lovenox) and pop pills (nicardipine) and will see the peri again in two weeks.  He’s making noises about “loosening my restrictions” as I get closer to term.  I refrained from kissing him at the idea – the guy reminds one of nothing so much as a clean-shaven 60ish version of Santa Claus, and I didn’t want to embarrass him all the way down to his socks, even if he is pretty darn familiar with my nether regions. 

In short, hooray!!!  Now we focus on getting to 32 weeks (6.5 more days, but who’s counting) and gently encouraging Miss B that all the cool kids are vertex this fall.  We’ll see.

Explore posts in the same categories: Pregnancy

4 Comments on “Astonished”

  1. Kim Says:

    woohoo! Awesome news! I can’t believe you’re almost 32 weeks… this is GREAT! Now if you could get them to hang in there to 35-36 things would be perfect! Anything after that is added sugar on the cake! 🙂

  2. Calliope Says:

    that is some GREAT news there!
    well done cervix, well done.

  3. kristi Says:

    We’re both due with twins on practically the same day. Wow! Congrats on the lengthening cervix! That’s fantastic.

    PS: Thanks for visiting my blog today.

  4. Natasha Says:

    Fantastic news! Going strong, mom!


Leave a Reply

