Drinking the Koolaid

I swear, I’m so tired of the swooning, weeping and frothing at the mouth from Obama’s minions, I could just puke.  Seriously.  They’re all going on like a bunch of doe-eyed twelve-year-olds with a crush.  It’s utterly nauseating.  The man is *not* the second coming of Christ, or Abraham Lincoln, or anybody else.  He’s a guy with a gift for public speaking (when it’s written for him) who’s pretty charismatic.  Otherwise, he stands for the exact same typical Democratic party stuff that’s been going around for decades (reminds me most of Carter’s positions on issues, which were oh-so-successful, but pretty typical D-stuff regardless.)  If you like that, then sure, support him.  If not, don’t.  But this cult of personality stuff just makes me want to hit the otherwise-rational people spouting it. 

The guy’s got nothing particularly new or interesting to say (other than “we should change things for the better” – well damn, hard to argue with that, no?) and has almost zero real experience, and can’t find any semblance of a foreign policy position with both hands and a flashlight (other than “ask Europe what to do”) but other than that, he’s great!  And I should vote for him why?  Because he makes you all tingly and he’s so woooonderful?  Gosh, does he have a letterman’s jacket, too?  Do you think he’ll be elected prom king?  Barf.

ETA:  If you’re going to comment, at least keep it civil.  (And since this was just on the wordpress main page, I’m sure I don’t know who you are – but I’m not going to put up with racist bullshit in comments, either, even if you’re agreeing with me.  Thx.)  If you don’t like this post, don’t bother commenting just to argue.  Just exit stage left, right, or whatever.  I just emailed it to Starbuck, because I didn’t want to stir up a bunch of crap on my blog, but y’know what?  It’s *my* blog.  For *my* thoughts.  So I decided to post it here.  And if y’all really hate it and never come back, well I guess it’s been nice knowing you.

Explore posts in the same categories: Politics, Rants

13 Comments on “Drinking the Koolaid”


  1. McCain-Palin. That’s the ticket.

  2. Megan Says:

    I agree.. I’m sick of Obama. I’m so turning Republican.

  3. Suzanna Catherine Says:

    When Ted Kennedy proclaimed his support for Obama bells started going off in my head. I’ll vote for McCain-Palin.

  4. Suzanna Catherine Says:

    P.S. I remember Chappaquidik. Speaking of which, I recently saw a bumper sticker that said: I’d Rather Go Hunting with Dick Cheney Than Driving With Ted Kennedy.

  5. Kim Says:

    Amen, sister!!!

  6. Jean Says:

    I totally understand where you are coming from. I have gotten to the point where I cannot stand to here the man speak. It truly does amaze me how people swoon at his feet like he is Jesus Christ or something. I am afraid that his sweet talk is what put him ahead of Clinton, and that was just a damn shame.

  7. Christina Says:

    Oh yeah, I hear you… and consider you very brave for publicly saying so. Such blasphemous words can get one into quite a lot of trouble these days!!

  8. Elaine Says:

    LOL!!! Did you see the McCain ad on Youtube where they were mocking this very part of the Obama campaign? Freaking hilarious. Showed Charlton Heston parting the Red Sea as they talked about The Chosen One. *snort*

  9. Jo Says:

    Hey K … yeah, it’s your blog and of course everyone is entitled to her opinion. But as a point of fact, he writes his own stuff. So no, he’s not some puppet reading someone else’s script. (Check with Pat Buchannan if you’re unconvinced.) Not trying to “convert” you, as I know that’s not going to happen, but I know you a stickler for the facts, so them’s the facts, m’am. Won’t make you agree with what he’s saying, but at least give credit where credit’s due.

    And congrats on making it to 29 weeks. That’s huge, as I know you know. Every day is gold at this point.

  10. becky Says:

    Thank you for this post, it’s just what I needed to read. I had thought I was the only one… 🙂

    Congratulations on your pregnancy. My twins were born at about 32 weeks and are now 8 yrs old. It’s so awesome to watch the two of them together. We’ll be thinking of you and hoping those babies ‘cook’ as long as possible!

  11. rainbowmom Says:

    oh…oh…thank you. standing ovation over here, I know you can’t see it, but it is happening!

  12. hp Says:

    Er – yeah. But the opposition is creationist, pro-life and homophobic.

  13. FoodyMom Says:

    Just arrived. Will be back. Love your post.


Leave a Reply

