The Mind – It Boggles

First of all, who is this b-list (or lower) celebrity that’s just named his kid Peanut?  Hello?  My first name is Peanut?  This is a male child, not that it matters.  Peanut!  People are idiots.

In further news (and the real point of this post before I stopped at Celebrity Baby Blog on my way here) I have been told at least 2-3 times in the last week that I look absolutely tiny for being 5 months pregnant with twins.  Okaaay.  First of all, I’m a big girl to start with.  Big frame, well-padded, spend most of my time shopping in the higher numbers of the misses section or the lower numbers of the plus sizes.  Am quite comfortable with my body (well, as much as any woman in our culture can say that) so this isn’t a pity request, just a description.  I’m.  Not.  Little.  Haven’t been in decades.  That said, I’ve now heard multiple times about how “little” I am.  An attending last night asked me “where I was hiding” the kids. 

This absolutely boggles the mind.  I’ve only gained approximately 10 lbs, sure, but have you seen the belly?  And here’s where I recall that no, you haven’t.  I haven’t taken this week’s 22 wk pictures, so you’ll have to content yourselves with these two (5 weeks and 20 weeks.)  Note: the boobs are still in the same place, the belly not so much.

Photobucket Photobucket

Explore posts in the same categories: Pregnancy

10 Comments on “The Mind – It Boggles”

  1. Kim Says:

    Hee hee! Love that cute belly you’re getting! Don’t worry before you know it they’ll be asking if you’re having trips! 😛 And yes, I’m up at 3:30am… hello heartburn… ugh!!!

  2. Dianna Says:

    Both shirts with stripes though! I demand polka dots for the next photo – pregnant women should be forced to wear polka dots at least once per pregnancy in sympathy for those horrible maternity clothes our mothers suffered through. And I don’t think you look tiny for one baby but for two? Your munchkins are obviously squishin’ in there 🙂

    And Ingo Rademacher and his son Peanut… sigh. I drooled over him back in the day when I used to watch General Hospital. I should have known that the expanse of his stomach muscles meant there was nothing up top.

  3. Nicki Says:

    Ok first of all for however long I’ve followed your blog I’ve never seen a picture but have read your descriptions of yourself and you are not nearly kind enough. You are not someone I would ever describe as being “padded” AT ALL! You look fantastic! I had to come out of lurkdom to say that.

    That said, yes you definitely look pregnant but it looks like the belly of a singleton! Enjoy it while it lasts! All twin preggos should be so lucky!!

  4. gypsygrrl Says:

    dah-ling…you look maah-veh-lous!
    people are weird tho. i think that is what you have to chalk those *tiny* comments up to. sometimes people dont just know how to say “You Look Great” and leave it the heck alone…

    so…

    YOU LOOK GREAT!

  5. rainbowmom Says:

    I’m gonna have to say you don’t look like five months with twins, maybe one, but the twins is what the shock is. You’re carrying very nicely. You have a really cute baby belly. I loved it when I finally got far enough along that people knew it was a pregnant stomach and not wondering if I was pregnant or just had a belly.

  6. Natasha Says:

    Adorable belly! I wish I looked that good when I was pg! Wait a few weeks and people will be saying how huge you are, people are never satisfied! I think you look great!

  7. thatjen Says:

    I’m similarly sized when not pregnant and let me tell you, you ARE small for 5 months with twins! I was bigger with Natalie I think and I *know* I was way huger this time at 5 months… again, just one in there! And now (8 mo.) I am getting an annoying number of “Are you sure it’s not twins?” comments.

  8. Lawmommy Says:

    I am quite sure I was bigger than that at 5 months with one baby…I might, in fact, have a bigger belly than that RIGHT NOW. With NO baby. ;-p.

    Peanut??? Seriously? PEANUT? Peanut is a nickname, a term of endearment, it is NOT the name you put on the poor kid’s birth certificate. How on earth can the child ever expect to become something like a nobel prize winner or scientist? Honestly, the name Peanut Rademacher does not instill a sense of great things to come…can you imagine a news story that begins, “today, in health news, Dr. Peanut Rademacher has announced a major breakthrough in cancer treatment”? I really cannot.

  9. Sugar & Ice Says:

    You know, I’ve determined that people must just say that to all pregnant twin moms. I am 27 weeks, my belly is currently quite a lot bigger than it was when my single daughter was born FULL term…the belly is gigantic…yet people still tell me how tiny I am. Either they’re crazy or they feel obligated to say it, b/c it simply isn’t true.

    I heard about “Peanut”. I used to watch soaps, so I’m pretty familiar with this actor. I was pretty shocked. While he has a pretty uncommon name (Ingo), I’d say Peanut is about the stupidest name I’ve ever heard. It’s like punishing your child for the rest of their life.

  10. Jillian Says:

    Hi you! I’ve been tracking your updates and I’m glad you’re doing well.

    I had so say, though, that I’m one of those people that *likes* the random and unusual names popping up. Sunday and Apple are among my favorites. Peanut’s okay–but only the next one is named Rerun. I can completely understand people who don’t like the odd names… but then, I’m a weirdo that doesn’t have an inclination toward romantic or common names. 🙂 Y’know me–weren’t you in on the conspiracy to keep me from naming my kids Napkin, Dispenser and Bucket???

    Take care!


Leave a Reply

