Preparations

With this weekend’s activities (putting together the cribs – thanks Starbuck – and attending a friend’s baby shower – she’s 12 weeks ahead of me) I’m starting to realize that I am, indeed, barring catastrophe, going to have a couple of infants to deal with soon.  I’m over halfway now, and the time since my first positive test has flown (despite the weeks of horrid nausea and fatigue), and I can only expect that the next 18ish weeks will fly as well (despite probable weeks of reflux, and more fatigue.)  So, for now, I’m working on names, and a “to do” list for myself (with Starbuck’s able assistance) to accomplish before they’re born.

As I mentioned before, I’m back to the drawing board for girls’ names, what with two and all, so have narrowed it down to a list of 33 at this point.  My favorites tend to fall into one of three categories: 1) Short and sweet (Cora, Lily, Maeve), 2) Pretty and more ornate (Miranda, Lydia, Juliet) and 3) Old Lady (Matilda, Beatrice, Eleanor.)  The categories are about 40% #1, 40% #2 and 20% #3 at this point.  Anyone with favorite girls’ names that would fit with any of the above, please chime in. 

For the “to do” list, I have a variety of home projects (clean out the pantry, organize the baby clothes, tidy up the guest room closet, etc) and would like to do some pre-prepared frozen meals for the first month or three after the kids show up.  I have a good vegetable soup recipe, and a good chili, but any tried-and-true freezer casserole recipes would be welcome.  I’m thinking that most rice-based things should freeze well (my chicken and rice casserole, for one) and have frozen pasta casseroles in the past as well, and I know non-creamy soups do well, but…any ideas, cooks?

Explore posts in the same categories: Domesticity, Pregnancy

8 Comments on “Preparations”

  1. Lawmommy Says:

    Making and freezing some food ahead of time is a great idea. There are some recipes at this site:
    http://www.frugalmom.net/recipes.htm, I have tried the chicken enchilda recipe and it is good. (The downside of this site is that most of the dishes have to defrost overnight, and sometimes with a newborn it is hard to remember to think about what you want to eat the next day).

    There are also some recipes and tips for freeze ahead cooking at this site:
    http://busycooks.about.com/od/makeaheadrecipes/a/freezecasserole.htm

    Names for twin girls…you could do feminized archangel names – Gabrielle and Michaela? (Yes, I am obviously partial to the name Gabriel/Gabrielle)…Or, trait names, like Grace and Hope? Faith and Charity? Nature names – Lily and Ivy? Lily and Rose? Herb/Spice names, like Cassia and Ginger? Rosemary and Sage? (I went to school with two sisters named Ginger and Cinnamon. Ginger was okay with it, Cinnamon not so much.) Thing One and Thing Two? (Um, kidding on the last one).

    Very happy for you, by the way.

  2. Kim Says:

    Hi! I went through infertility treatment, and that, coupled with my family history of twins, caused me to come up some potential twin names. I never ended up using them, so, I’m glad to suggest them to you – how about Natalie and Madeleine.

  3. Natasha Says:

    How about like lasagna and pasta sauces?
    I have always liked Olivia and Fiona. How about some belly pics? How exciting! Half way there!

  4. gypsygrrl Says:

    how about Lily & Juliet?
    i love all the names!!! hard to choose…

  5. Dianna Says:

    Hey there! Juliet was on our list for Miss Phoebe and I still feel slight twinges of sadness that we didn’t use it (although Phoebe was my favorite). Also high on our list was Evelyn (Evie) and I liked both Valerie and Vivian, with no support whatsoever from my dear husband. Anna was almost Annabel, which I still adore.

    As for recipes, send me your address and I’ll mail you a few recipes. My mom and MIL both made several casseroles while they were here helping me with my recovery and they can be cut in half and frozen easily!

  6. Sugar&Ice Says:

    I’ve done a lot of thinking about girl names lately, as we have two more to name as well. My 2 year old’s name is Lila, which I love, and I want these girls names to be something I find equally lovely. My husband is very, very picky….I suggested Cora, Lydia, and Eleanor oddly enough, and he shot all those down along with about 70 other names. I did a post on my blog a few posts ago, and I got a TON of responses, so hopefully someone will have something really good to suggest for you :).

  7. Poppy Says:

    Hi, I’m rather new to your blog and decided there was no better time to delurk than now 🙂

    Some names that are in our family that I love are:

    Grace Makenna

    Rachel Elizabeth

    Lily Orion

    Hannah Eileen

    Good luck with finding the right ones for your little girls~

  8. Shae Says:

    Hello! I’ve been lurking for awhile, and I LOVE playing the name game, so I thought I would chime in. This is a great website for twin names that do more than just rhyme.

    I like these two:
    Cara and Mia
    They are Italian, and together mean “my beloved.”

    I also like:
    Eve and Zoe
    Both mean “life”

    Have fun! Choosing names is tough, but you’ll know the right ones when you find them.


Leave a Reply

