Cricket and the Manatee

1) We fooled around with the u/s machine at work the other night, and I’m beginning to think that my suspicion about Crick having girl parts (the old “angle of the dangle” bit) is going to be confirmed.  Watson was playing coy, so no money shot from him/her (and my suspicion is still “him”.)

2) Couldn’t sleep worth a damn last night, which was mightily annoying, although I did get up and watch an old Tivo’ed X-files (ca. 1997 – the one with the Mothmen) from 3:30 to 4:30.  Ah, Scully’s hair, how I missed thee.  And then of course wound up sleeping late, which screwed any plans for a.m. outdoor work.  It’s hot enough in the afternoons these days that I don’t feel comfortable working much outside (both generally, and being pg.)  Will work outside some tonight, temp permitting.  I’m hoping to mow both lawns and sweep the patio.  Then it’s cheeseburgers for late supper.  Mmm…

3) Bought infant carseats yesterday ($20 off a piece with coupons) so W&C are covered from birth to 65 lbs now.  One thing ticked off of the list.

4) I’ve decided to buy a second set of the reasonably unisex bedding that I already have, a second matching crib, and put the danged nursery together already.  It really seems the easiest course, since I won’t know sexes for certain until mid-July, and I’m concerned about how my energy’s going to hold up when I’m roughly the size of a manatee.  Plus, I really like the bedding I have, and have found it on ebay despite its being discontinued in 2006.  Hooray!

5) Only Care may appreciate this, but I was regaling the nurses at work the other night with Barbara Manatee, The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything and The Water Buffalo Song.  I may be a little deranged, but I think it’s a fun kind of crazy. 

And I’ve never licked a spark plug
And I’ve never sniffed a stinkbug
And I’ve never painted daisies
On a big red rubber ball

And I’ve never bathed in yogurt
And I don’t look good in leggings
And we’ve never been to Boston in the fall!

Explore posts in the same categories: Pregnancy, Random

7 Comments on “Cricket and the Manatee”

  1. Chas Says:

    I had no luck finding a crib just like the one I already have…so count yourself lucky on that one.


  2. Ah, the Veggies. We are schooling Natalie in the silly songs, to the point that whenever we are looking for something she sings, “Oh where is the _________? Oh where is the _______, Oh where oh where oh where oh where oh where, is the _______?!” Such fun lies ahead for you, my friend!

  3. Care Says:

    I’ve never plucked a rooster
    and I am not too good at ping-pong
    and I’ve never thrown my mashed potatoes up against the wall
    and I’ve never kissed a chipmunk,
    and I’ve never gotten head lice
    and I have never been to Boston in the fall

    LOL – my trio still love that CD!

    I hope that Crick is indeed a Cricket! And woohoo on scoring the matching bedding.

  4. Care Says:

    Oh great, now those songs will be stuck in my head the remainder of the weekend. :-p

  5. Elaine Says:

    You’ve gotta love Ebay! And the Veggies . . . oh, the Veggies.

  6. Amy Says:

    So now my interest is piqued — when is your next ultrasound? I’m curious to know if Crick is actually a Crick-ette 🙂 And you’re way ahead of me on the nursery thing, I just bought cloth diapers today and thought that was planning ahead! What bedding/furniture style are you using?

  7. Natasha Says:

    A boy and a girly would be to awesome! And wow, you are on top of things!


Leave a Reply

