Double Take

I had my real ultrasound today.  6w6d.  And this time, for real, there are two.  Both of the embryos have decided to stick around, with heartbeats of 117 and 120, respectively.  We saw Watson right off, just as expected, beating at 120.  Then Dr. Metrosexual goes fishing around some more, and of course I think he’s hunting for an ovary (ha!) and finds Crick waaaay up in my fundus (and thus hard to see, so sorry Crick, no good baby pictures of you today) with a rate of 117.  Both are nice-sized, and appear healthy. 

Starbuck went with me to my u/s, so we stopped off afterward and bought two gender-neutral sleepers (one green with a giraffe, one yellow with a duck) at Carter’s.  After I called my astounded parents, of course.

Here’s Watson:

The larger sac on the right is Watson, the smaller one near the arrow is Crick (just looks small in this perspective – they’re the same size.)

It’s pretty well thrown my birth center prenatal/birth care out of the window, and of course I’m still totally in shock, but am really happy to have two apparently healthy ones. I’m “telling” at work tomorrow night (the more astute nurses are already wondering at my nausea all the time.)  I’m “telling” at PEO tonight, too.  Should cause a pretty big stir, I’m sure.  My next appointment is 4/23, for another u/s, then I’ll be cut loose from the RE to the OB. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Pregnancy

21 Comments on “Double Take”

  1. Care Says:

    Woohoo!!!!!! I’m thrilled for you that both Watson and Crick stuck around for the ride!

  2. Natasha Says:

    HOLY MARY! That is so FANTASTIC!!!!!!!! I am so happy for you, I could cry! You must be over the moon!!!!!! Hi Watson and Crick!!!!!

  3. Care Says:

    PS – I think it will end up being Watson and Cricket. 🙂

  4. Sarah Says:

    Woohoo! Congratulations!


  5. I was thinking about this all day and wondering how many really would be in there! Congratulations, congratulations!

  6. Blondie Says:

    Congrats! Happy news!

  7. j Says:

    Congratulations!! I am SO happy for you!!
    -Janie
    http://dragonflychronicle.wordpress.com

  8. Kristin Says:

    Holy crap, this is so exciting! Congratulations to the three of you!

  9. Jillian Says:

    Aw, babies! Congrats K!

  10. Amy Says:

    Congrats on the great U/S! 😀

  11. Sharon Says:

    Wonderful news!! Congratulations.

  12. Dianna Says:

    Whoooooo hooooooo! Two little monkeys! Is Piper ready for the craziness? 🙂

    I’m truly so happy for you. Can’t wait to meet for lunch and gab!

  13. Kristine Says:

    Congrats!!! I am so happy Crick and Watson stuck around. I kinda of thought with all this spotting that you would see two healthy little beans in there.

  14. Cara Says:

    Congratulations!! What wonderful news! I’m so excited for you!

  15. deanna Says:

    Wonderful!!!! Congrats on your two little sweeties!


  16. Two!!!! Doubly sweet. I am so happy for you.

  17. Lawmommy Says:

    Wow. Wowwity wow wow. That’s like, super cool with knobs. Double knobs, even.

    What is PEO?

    Any chance Starbuck or your mother or somebody will stay with you for a few weeks when Watson and Crick arrive? You’ll be tired and all…

    Congratulations.

    Gretchen

  18. AJ Says:

    🙂 🙂

  19. knittermama Says:

    Great news! 🙂 Congratulations!

  20. mrsfox Says:

    awww Congratulations!!!! That’s wonderful news, so happy for you. ^_^ Have fun shopping for the babies. PS- Love those names!!

  21. Clemency Says:

    Heaps of goodness! So glad for you. Just checked in to make sure all is still well and excellent, heartbeats already!
    Wonderful news.


Leave a Reply

