Squish

I had my saline sonohysterogram, trial transfer, and paperwork/meds appointment today.  I think I was at the RE’s for an hour and fifteen minutes, which is my longest appointment ever. 

The trial transfer was first – just like an IUI, really, without the crampiness of the actual insem.  Apparently I have an “easy cervix.”  Who knew?  (Heh.  Don’t answer that.)

The saline sono was a bit crampier, what with the ol’ balloon in the cervix routine, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as the HSG, and probably would have been better if I hadn’t forgotten to take some ibuprofen pre-exam.  Once the cath was out, the worst of it was really the 20 cc or so of saline draining back out.  Squish.  No polyps or anything in the ute (which I figured, as she’s never been the problem child – wish she’d rub off on the ovaries) so we’re full speed ahead.

I filled out my consents – yes to ICSI, no to assisted hatching (at age 28), donate my embryos if I get hit by a bus.  The older, extremely competent nurse that I’ve really grown to like did my meds “training” and reviewed things with me.  Fastest training in history, she said, since obviously I don’t need to learn how to attach a needle to a syringe or how to give an IM shot.  I hadn’t ever used the q-cap system for the Bravelle and Menopur before, so that was interesting (and I think I need it at work for the lidocaine vials, rather than breaking the glass ampule and risking my fingertips every time.)   I’m looking at a possible retrieval date of 3/4, but my guess is closer to 3/5 or 3/6, given that I respond a smidge on the slow side, usually.  We’ll see, I’ll make it work regardless.

Anyhow, my (very expensive) meds are ordered, and I’m going to bed for a few hours after being up all night.  Hooray for having the next three days off!

Explore posts in the same categories: TTC

One Comment on “Squish”


  1. Yay! 3/6 is my birthday so I’ll keep FX for that one! 🙂

    So glad things are moving forward.


Leave a Reply

