Why Not Huckabee?

A post on my plans vis a vis the potential referral is coming, but there are other things I’d like to talk about just now.  (Short answer – going to pass on this referral, but stay on the list and proceed with my IVF.) 

I’ve been arguing (in the discussion sense of the term – not in anger) with friends and family about the GOP primaries, and have heard a number of confused questions about my complete and utter antipathy for Huckabee.  I’m not saying I’d vote for Clinton or Obama over him – I wouldn’t – but I wouldn’t vote for Huckabee, either.  I’d honestly abstain and/or vote for the libertarian.  And he’s the only R running that I’m saying that about (with the exception of Ron Paul, who’s patently whackadoo crazy, and has no chance of getting the nomination.) 

Why don’t I like Huckabee?  I mean, I’m one of those card-carrying “evangelicals” that are supposed to be so enamored of him.  I’m a graduate of a proudly evangelical college, and actually believe that my faith affects the rest of my life.  So, hey, I should like this guy, right?  Wrong. 

Mostly, I despise his camp’s conceit.  They parade around, with the insinuation that every evangelical should vote for him, just on solidarity.  I mean, we all believe all of the same things, right?  So why should his views/competence on anything outside of social issues matter?  If God’s on his team, why look elsewhere? 

It shouldn’t bother us that he’s about as knowledgeable about foreign policy as Piper*, or that his economic policies are neither plausible nor particularly conservative.  I shouldn’t be concerned that his social values are basically knock-offs of his good buddy Bill Gothard**, who really believes that I’m out of line with “God’s will” what with my pants-wearing, rock-music-listening and having-a-career.  I should just vote for him because he believes, and so do I. 

Bullshit, I say.  Bullshit.  God gave me a brain, and I intend to use it.  Nowhere in the Bible does it say to “pick the guy who believes in me, even if he’s incompetent.”  I wouldn’t choose a physician, or a lawyer, or anything else based on religion over competence, and I certainly won’t do so for a president. 

*I’m trying to teach her to growl at Mahmoud Ahmedinejad, but it’s slow going.

**According to Gothard, rock music causes heart arrhythmia and anarchy, cabbage patch dolls are possessed by the devil, and schizophrenia is just a result of not taking responsibility for one’s actions.   

Explore posts in the same categories: Politics

3 Comments on “Why Not Huckabee?”

  1. byrdlady Says:

    i truly hope this doesn’t offend you, but i for one am APPALLED that Americans are considering voting for someone who truly and outspokenly believes that the Earth is only 6,000 years old. That sh*t scares the hell out of me. Not to mention his comparison of gay marriage to beastiality. But hey, that’s a pretty common one these days, right?
    Again, i hope that doesn’t offend you, but i couldn’t keep my mouth shut.

  2. elowyn Says:

    Not offended at all – I strongly dislike the man, and don’t personally believe in a “young earth theory” – nor do most of my Christian biologist friends. There are a few legit biologists that seem to reconcile it somehow, but they’re rare.

    The bestiality bit is absolutely abhorrent. Didn’t know he was saying that. How ignorant…

    I’m just hoping he goes down in flames over the next few primaries, or I’ll be voting Libertarian come November.

  3. Calliope Says:

    I keep forgetting that you are the R word. Remind me to get you to drink the kool aid and invite you over to the liberal team 😉


Leave a Reply

