Take A Poll, IVP-ers!

Two items:

 1) How many vials of sperm to buy?

 2) Should I repeat my HSG?

I asked about both on Fertility Fiend today, but wanted to give the IVP a crack at these oh-so-exciting (heh) questions as well.

Background on #1:

I can’t base this on my experience last time, in which I was just *sure* I’d get pregnant immediately, and so bought 12 vials planning on siblings. Well, as it turns out, it’s as likely as not that the donor was the problem, not me (he still has no reported pgs after 2.5 years in the program) so I’m cautious about overbuying on a new to me, unproven to me (but proven pregnancies) donor.  OTOH, I don’t want to pay for shipping any more often than I have to (at $150 a throw) so want to economize by ordering several vials and having them shipped all at once.

My rough TTC plan is injects + IUI x 3-4 cycles, then on to IVF. I’m hesitant to cycle at all unless I have two vials on hand, just in case one is “bad” for some reason. There’s a small (very small) price break for buying six or more at a shot.  Donor of choice has oodles of vials and is still active in the program.  I’d like to use the same donor for sibs, so leftovers if I’m successful early on aren’t a problem.  How many would you buy?  Two?  Three?  Four?  Six?  More?

Background on #2:

I had a nice, normal HSG in March 06.  I suppose I could have managed to block off my tubes in the past eighteen months, and there’s the old post-HSG effect to consider, too. I have mild PCOS, but no known endo or other problems.  So HSG?  Yes, no, maybe? 

Explore posts in the same categories: TTC

One Comment on “Take A Poll, IVP-ers!”

  1. nycphoenix Says:

    I had my HSG in January 04 When embarking on IVF #1 in August 2006 RE decided to go through the SHG so we wouldn’t have to worry about the dye and figured that with my HSG report was enough


Leave a Reply

