Becoming Jane

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

It’s no secret that I’m a longtime Austenite, so I just had to go see Becoming Jane today.  By myself, natch, because it’s far too girly-fictional for Starbuck to have any interest in it, and too historical for Aunt K.  I, however, am a huge lover of period costume romances, and this one didn’t disappoint. 

Historical accuracy?  Minimal, I’m sure, but I really don’t care.  I’m hardly a stickler for such things.  The story, on the other hand, was sweet and wrenching by turns, and full of little references to various of Austen’s books.  The director did a great job of capturing the longing looks that make the major Austen movie romances “work” and the costumes were to die for.  Add in a drool-worthy James McAvoy, an astonishingly not annoying Anne Hathaway (with a passable British accent) and the ever-enjoyable duo of Julie Walters and Maggie Smith, and you’ve got $6.50 and a Saturday afternoon well spent. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Media

3 Comments on “Becoming Jane”

  1. Christina Says:

    I’ve been wanting to see that movie. Glad to know it doesn’t disappoint. 🙂

  2. Cara Says:

    Thank you for the review! I was thinking about going to see it tonight and you’ve sold me on it. I’m off to the movies!

  3. Care Says:

    Wish you were closer – I’d have gone with you. I love girly films AND period costumes. I’ll have to rent this one when it makes it to DVD (though I’ll have to wait until the all-boy trio are in bed to watch it.)


Leave a Reply

