Palpitations

I've been having runs of PSVT* for days.  And I’m sick of it.  I’m also having trouble falling asleep (definitely unusual for out-in-30-seconds me) and feel like my brain is going a mile a minute.  I’m not over-caffeinated, I don’t have a history of mania, there’s no reason to believe I have an adrenal tumor, so I’m left with the old standby:  stress.  The thing is, I really don’t feel overly stressed.  Or, at least, it’s mostly positive stress at the moment.    

I’ve had this arrhythmia intermittently since high school.  I was on meds (beta blockers) for awhile in college, but went off as I wasn’t having any episodes.  I had more trouble with it in PA school (to the point that I had to do carotid massage basically every day in cadaver lab – and it wasn’t the cadaver’s carotids that were being massaged) and while working for the jackass, but it really hasn’t been a problem in three years or so.  And now, despite being really pleased with the new job & all, here it is.  Bah.

And of course it’s not really safe to do carotid massage when one’s alone, as there’s always the risk of putting oneself into profound bradycardia and, um, dying, and Valsalva maneuvers (the other option) haven’t been working very well.  So I just get to feel icky for bits of my day, amidst having seemingly boundless energy the rest of the time.  Ah, the joys of being me.

In better news, I have about 1/2 of the wallcoverings in the closet done.  If the ticker settles down a bit tonight (or I just decide to ignore it) I’m going to do the track lighting.  Ooh.  Aah.  There will be a pic post once I’m finished.   

*Paroxysmal supraventricular tachycardia.  In my case, heart rates in the 120-160 range for 30 minutes or greater at a time.  Feels like there’s a rabid gerbil in my chest.  Isn’t that a pretty picture?   

Explore posts in the same categories: Random

Leave a Reply

